Login   |   My Account

 

Pet Containment Reviews

 

Havahart® Wireless has created its line of Wireless Dog Fences with your dog's safety in mind, offering the largest Roaming Area on the market and unique in-home Boundary Breach Alerts. The systems also include a wider Trigger Zone, which provides your dog with the opportunity to turn back into the safety of the Roaming Area. Additional safety features and state-of-the-art technology give your dog freedom to roam and play, while offering you peace of mind knowing he's doing so safely. Learn what other consumers are saying about the Radial-Shape2 and Custom-Shape Systems by reading these wireless dog fence reviews.

 

Read More

 

 

 

 

 

Radial-Shape Fence

(23 Reviews)

 

 

Amazon Review    August 2013

Reviewer: Mark W. Howard

 

Works pretty good. The batteries last better than the instructions say. A little hard to adjust around large objects in the area, but works as the instructions state.

 

Shop the Radial-Shape Wireless Dog Fence  

[back to top]

 

Amazon Review    April 2013

Reviewer: Adam M

 

We use it at home and also take it camping with us spanning from 40ft. radius to 400ft. My dog was used to it in 2 days and now when we go camping it takes only a couple minutes for him to understand.

 

Shop the Radial-Shape Wireless Dog Fence  

[back to top]

 

 

Amazon Review    March 2013

Reviewer: MDKRUSH

 

Great product for a wireless fence (Large area up to 11 acres!) This thing works well. I used to have a PetSafe wireless and upgraded to this for a larger area.

 

Pros:

  • up to 11 acres
  • rechargeable batteries
  • real time display of distance dog is from base
  • alarm on base when dog gets correction
  • comes with 2 batteries and charger does 2 at a time
  • battery status shown on base

Cons:

  • batteries have to be changed daily because they run out of power

 

Over all works well, I just wish batteries would last at least a week or so...

 

Shop the Radial-Shape Wireless Dog Fence  

[back to top]

 

 

Amazon Review    February 2013

Reviewer: Glen D.

 

Works great! Easy to set up and tailor the settings to my yard. My only complaint is that the collar is a buckle not a snap clip collar. This makes it harder to put on and take off.

 

Shop the Radial-Shape Wireless Dog Fence  

[back to top]

 

 

Amazon Review    February 2013

Reviewer: Eagle Vision

 

Background

We have a Brick house on top of a hill with flat terrain. However, I want to restrict my dog from going into the forest, the neighbor's yard and street. Our dog is a 6 year old Bichon Frise that is house trained. He goes to the front door when he needs to make a bathroom break and he will circle us if he needs to go, if we are not in the Foyer.

 

Set Up

Set up was rather easy. The menu system is intuitive and simple to follow. The dog collar comes with 2 rechargeable RCR123 batteries. I put the controller near the garage window, away from electromagnetic interference. The zone is more of an ellipse for my property but it covers the danger areas for my dog.

 

Using the transmitter for tone, only, the user places flags to mark out the perimeter. It serves as the physical landmark for the play zone. A warning tone occurs as you approach the boundary and a correction is administered if the pet goes beyond it. This lasts for 30 seconds according to the manual but I did not test that lockout feature.

 

The system involves a several week training interval to get the pet to adapt to the sound, feedback and flag markers. My dog picked up pretty quickly that it was not to go beyond the tone alarm. I set the correction to a medium setting.

 

Use

The system works well for our pet, when all he needs is a potty break from the house. I just place the collar on at that time. Obviously, I don't use this for walks around the property. He is usually on a leash for that.

 

Conclusion

This is a well made system and will work on properties with a less robust landscape. The set up is critical.

 

Shop the Radial-Shape Wireless Dog Fence  

[back to top]

 

 

BEST EVER    February 2013

Reviewer: Sue

 

We have had our fence for three years and love it. Dog loves it. Never know how we lived with out it!

 

Shop the Radial-Shape Wireless Dog Fence  

[back to top]

 

 

Amazon Review    January 2013

Reviewer: L. Genkeas "Eatmilk"

 

We live on 3 acres. Our full grown German Shepherd decided when she's outside she's going to leave our yard. I decided to give this fence a try and so far I love it. We had installed an underground fence years ago for another dog. That kind of fencing is a pain to install and the wire is easy to break. I looked at another brand of wireless fencing but it only covered a 90' radius. I loved the fact that this fence can be adjusted anywhere from 40' to 400'! We have ours set on 180'.

 

When our dog gets near the perimeter the collar beeps to warn the dog. If she keeps going, she will get a shock. You can adjust the collar to give a warning tone only or adjust the level of shock. If the dog happens to leave the perimeter (and so far our dog hasn't), the collar will not shock her when she returns to the yard. Another thing I love about this system is the inside unit or base beeps to alert you when your dog is nearing the perimeter. The base actually displays how many feet away from the base the dog is. Don't think the footage reading is totally accurate as my dog was about 15' away from the base but it said 30'. Irregardless, it's a neat feature and at least you can see if your dog is coming back or not. The set up of this unit was easy. You are supposed to put the base on an outer wall in the center of the area you want to cover. It also states to try not to put the base right beside any large appliances or metal objects as they could interfere. I haven't had any trouble with interference or sporadic signals.

 

On the initial set up, we put the base in one location and then moved it to cover more of the yard area we needed to cover. I suggest when it is set up, for 2 people to do this. I walked around the yard with the collar listening for beeps while my husband stayed inside and adjusted the settings on the base. One complaint I have is the collar for this unit is water resistant. The other brand of wireless fencing has waterproof collars. Not sure why they couldn't make these waterproof, especially since the collars are being used outside.

 

Overall, we're loving the fence. Our dog seems to be doing well with it. I now have peace of mind when she's outside knowing she's in the yard or if she did leave, the base will let me know.

 

Shop the Radial-Shape Wireless Dog Fence  

[back to top]

 

 

Best Pet Fence Out There    January 2013

Reviewer: Wireless Fence Lover

 

We were unsure before we bought this fence since we didn't know anyone that owned one, but we read the reviews and decided to go for it. We have a slope to our yard with the highest point being at the front so we weren't sure it would work. We bought it, set it up, and put the collars on the dogs. We put out the flags and took two days training the dogs with the shock on. We switched to loud beep only, since then, we have haven't had any problems. We changed the collars to beep loudly and when the dogs get too close, it beeps and they turn in the other direction. That's all it took! Now sometimes we forget the collars and they still don't go close to the where the perimeter is. We have one very aggressive dog- sweet, but very territorial. Even he stays away from the boundary.

 

I LOVE THIS PRODUCT. Much cheaper than wired fences and it really does the job!

 

Shop the Radial-Shape Wireless Dog Fence  

[back to top]

 

 

Amazon Review    January 2013

Reviewer: David Y.

 

We have a 7 month old male labrador (fixed) and live in a rural, mountainous area. Larger dogs tend to run free where we live, within reason. We also tend to have a lot of domestic dogs running around, in a good way. But they all enable each other to stray a little.

 

Our new puppy was wandering some pretty impressive or offensive distances and it started to become a problem early on. So we bought this wireless fence, and the results have been good but not perfect.

 

The 400 foot radius is awesome, we only use 250. The system is very easy to use and configure, no issues there. At 400 feet, your dog will have plenty of room to run.

 

We did the flags and training with him at 250 feet.

 

It kept him fairly in check pretty fast. I took the shock myself on its highest level. The shock on me did work, but I thought it would hurt a lot more that it did. It was very "mildly unpleasant" for me, nowhere near enough for me to drop the collar or anything. I'm 200 pounds, he's maybe 25 pounds. But I was still expecting more. This will not hurt your dog, don't worry about that.

 

So make sure that collar is tight when they're outside. I can see fur blocking a lot of the shock.

 

But if there is a rabbit and he feels like making a run for it, or a jogger who he'd like to join, he will bust through. Probably typical puppy-hood. But his wandering has been cut way, way down. He at least knows where his boundaries are.

 

On a scale of 1 to 10, 10 being he never leaves his land without his collar EVER, I'd give it an 8.

 

Shop the Radial-Shape Wireless Dog Fence  

[back to top]

 

 

Amazon Review    December 2012

Reviewer: Lori R.

 

Set up was quick and easy. This product gives our dog lots of freedom to run in the yard. I would definitely recommend this product.

 

Shop the Radial-Shape Wireless Dog Fence  

[back to top]

 

 

Amazon Review    December 2012

Reviewer: Lola Bunny

 

I got this wireless fence for my grandmother, who wanted to be able to let her little dog outside by herself (she has some little dog that's mixed breed, chihuahua and something else), but even though she has neighbors real close by, no one has a fenced-in yard. She didn't want her dog making problems for the neighbors at all.

 

I got this for her, and my husband helped her set it up. It didn't take very long. She's been using it for a couple months now and she loves it. She says it does exactly what she wants it to, and that it was a great gift.

 

Shop the Radial-Shape Wireless Dog Fence  

[back to top]

 

 

Crazy Puppy and Love Havahart    November 2012

Reviewer: Shelby

 

We have a Golden Retriever Black lab mix puppy. He always has a ton of energy and we found it hard to play wiht our little pup outside on our two acres since we don't have a fence. Havarhart has changed our lives. Garth,our dog, can now go out side by himself. Now we can play fetch with Garth and allow him to run and lay on our two acres. Garth picked up the system within an hour and headapted quickly to the system. We love Havahart!!!!!

 

Shop the Radial-Shape Wireless Dog Fence  

[back to top]

 

 

Amazon Review    October 2012

Reviewer: Menthol Rum

 

We have a good sized yard and two King Charles Cavalier Spaniels that quickly adapted to the wireless fence. We can't let them outside alone as they are just too mischievous and young. We wanted to give them some freedom, but they had to be on a leash or a run.

 

Now, they can be outside with us and enjoy our yard. They learned quickly and have adapted well. If you have a similar situation, you know how nice it is that you can have your dogs enjoy your yard with you and you don't have to hover over them or have them tied up. They are happier, we are happier and that's all the difference.

 

We don't let them out all the time unattended, but they get a *lot* more outdoor time and we've become much more relaxed about letting them roam around. They both learned really fast and we had no issues getting them trained.

 

This is a really nice system and the benefits for all are great.

 

Shop the Radial-Shape Wireless Dog Fence  

[back to top]

 

 

Amazon Review    October 2012

Reviewer: kim1109

 

We are extremely happy with the Havahart Wireless Fence. Easy to hook up and dog is much happier with the added room he has to play and keeps him safe from the road and other problems. He is a young dog and very adventurous and this keeps him where we know he is staying out of trouble.

 

Shop the Radial-Shape Wireless Dog Fence  

[back to top]

 

 

Needs a Higher Setting - Amazon Review    September 2012

Reviewer: Still Looking

 

It's a great design and I love the 400' range since I live on 11 acres and am surrounded by larger parcels. However, even on the high setting my young female lab goes right through it. She responds well to her training collar on the low and medium settings so it's not that she's unresponsive to the electric stimulus. The collar simply doesn't have a high enough setting. I sent it back.

 

Shop the Radial-Shape Wireless Dog Fence  

[back to top]

 

 

Great for our Small Dog and Large Yard - Amazon Review    September 2012

Reviewer: Polly

 

This works great for my Cockapoo! She weighs just 8.6 pounds, and has not had any problems with the collar. We have just over 1/2 an acre and it is only partially fenced in with a vinyl picket fence. This has saved her from a life of always having to be on a lead when outside. Due to the possibility of other dogs coming in the yard, she's only loose outside when there's someone outside with her. This wireless fence gives me peace of mind while I'm doing yard work, or just enjoying my yard, and allows my dog to wander our property.

 

I had my dad come over to help me set it up, but honestly, I could have done it alone. Charge the batteries the night before, and the set up is very simple.

 

I admit, my dog is a BIG sissy. She cries when you merely scold her. Her feelings get hurt and she'll cry like you're causing her physical harm. Surprisingly, she did not cry out when she got a shock. She looked a bit surprised, and it took a couple of tries for her to realize that walking out of the yard = that uncomfy shock.

 

If they only made these for housebreaking, my life would have been SO much easier!

 

Shop the Radial-Shape Wireless Dog Fence  

[back to top]

 

 

Keeping Polly Safe - Amazon Review    August 2012

Reviewer: Gertrude

 

We have been having some trouble with our beagle, Polly. None of us knew that beagles could climb trees and fences when they wanted to see what was on the other side of the fence. But she can. And she does. So far the bailout fees have been about $500. Our real concern, though, is that on the other side of the woods behind our backyard is a county highway. The speed limit is 50 but it's a dangerous world for puppies and other small animals.

 

Anyway, you can let Polly out in the back yard and then in a few minutes see her running in circles in the front yard. You can actually be standing next to her, thinking you are watching her, and she will turn up on the other side of the fence. It's like the fence is invisible to her. We have repaired and re-repaired and blocked access to trees and yet the dog is smarter than the fence. She can go under or go over. Either is just like walking for her.

 

The Wireless Fence could not have been easier to set up. I charged the batteries the night before and was planning on spending hours figuring out complicated formulas but none of that has been necessary. The unit should be placed on an outside wall. On the set up menu, it asks you what number you want the radius to be. Then the collar needs to be fit pretty snugly so that the points are connected to the dog's skin. The included collar is already connected. I didn't bother with the flags because Polly eats everything.

 

The other handy part of this is it lets you know with a beep when your dog is at the perimeter. Polly was willing to be shocked for awhile on her first visit to the perimeter and she was willing to keep being shocked while she tried to chew off the collar. Fortunately, the beep called us before she went too far with it.

 

I was a little freaked when I initially checked the set up of the collar and it said it was 10 feet. What it was really telling me was that the collar on the dog was ten feet away from the unit. That's a pretty sweet way to locate the little monster.

 

Personally I was against having a dog shocked but then it turned out I was more against having a dog run out onto the highway and this is the perfect solution. No wires to bury. No eight foot tall fences to build.

 

Shop the Radial-Shape Wireless Dog Fence  

[back to top]

 

 

New Mocha Stays Home - Amazon Review    June 2012

Reviewer: Priscilla

 

We have a cocker spaniel named Mocha who is two years old and who likes to roam. I can't tell you how many times one of my neighbors has called for me to come and get him. He's friendly as all get out, but I'm afraid that one day the popo will get him and I don't relish a trip to the pound to pay his bail or worse he might get hit by a car.

 

It took four days with this fence to train him not to leave the front yard. That's it, four days of buzzing and a mild shock.

 

We live kind of in the country and our neighbors are a fur piece. Well, not that far, but farther than in the city, so Mocha has a very large yard to run in and we just didn't want to fence it. Now we don't have to and as a bonus, he doesn't wear the collar anymore. Once trained, he figured out where his boundaries are and has pretty much stuck to them.

 

Actually, in the two months since we've had this collar off, he's only wandered over to the neighbor's just once and that's pretty good. We did put the collar back on him for a couple days, to reinforce that he shouldn't leave, but it's off again now. We don't know why he strayed that day, maybe he was chasing a rabbit, we get a lot of those.

 

I'm not going to say that you'll be as lucky with your dog as we were with Mocha, but even if it takes a little longer for you to train your dog to stay in the yard, it's worth it, because once you know your dog's not going to go a wandering it's one big worry you can forget about.

 

Shop the Radial-Shape Wireless Dog Fence  

[back to top]

 

 

Boxer Owner    April 2012

Reviewer: Heather

 

We found this to be better than the Petsafe brand we tried. Keeping my hyper Boxer in the yard and close by at a level 3 even. Highly recommend this brand for you dog needs.

 

Shop the Radial-Shape Wireless Dog Fence  

[back to top]

 

 

Simply Perfect    April 2012

Reviewer: Mevbo

 

Love, Love, Love this system. My dog is small so I got the "Small breed" version. Setting 2 seems to be the best for him (He is headstrong) The batteries go about 2 weeks before needing changed with the settings I use. I really like that I can see the battery level on the main unit. I have the system set to 140 foot. Very reliable range and stable. Oliver learned his boundries very quickly. I walked with him and waived the flags like the directions say. He very rarely gets close to the outer boundaries now. Even with the neighbors dogs out, he stays in our yard. So easy to set up too. I tell eveyone I know that has a dog to get this system. It really is awesome. Thanks!

 

Shop the Radial-Shape Wireless Dog Fence  

[back to top]

 

 

Love It!    April 2012

Reviewer: mly

 

My husband set up our fence in a matter of minutes. What a piece of cake! We have two dogs. My dogs didn't even need as much "training" as recommended for the fence. My lab won't even attempt to chase a ball outside of the boundary(which is a huge feat for her)! My golden retriever stays put for the most part. I would like to note that he does occasionally go outside the boundary. If he wants to meet my daughter when she gets off the bus, he shakes his head and keeps walking(even on the highest setting). I am not sure if this is due to his thick coat or if its his stubbornness and loyalty to my daughter. Luckily, we dont worry about him running off. This keeps both of my dogs in our yard MOST of the time and keeps my lab in the yard 100%. The battery life is long. The monitor is easy to read and self explanatory. I love this fence and would purchase it again in a heartbeat! I honestly have nothing negative to say about this. All I need now, is a Havahart pet door! Thank you Havahart for keeping my dogs safe and for giving us peace of mind!

 

Shop the Radial-Shape Wireless Dog Fence  

[back to top]

 

 

Great Product    April 2012

Reviewer: Leslie

 

We have had the new Radial Shape Wireless System now for about 3 weeks. It has been a lifesaver! We have 2 BlueTick Coon Hounds, about 50 pounds each. Our biggest fear was that they would ignore the beep and shock if they were on a trail and busy hunting. But to our surprise, it works! We tried the training... didn't work. We tried setting the system on the lowest shock settings to ease them into it... didn't work. So we just set it to high and let them figure it out. And they did. Dogs are smarter than we give them credit for, so it only took a couple initial shocks for them to learn.

 

The only negative review I have is that one of the collars stopped working. But the customer service was wonderful and shipped a new collar to us prompty once we mailed the old one back.

 

I definately recommend this product to others. It allows you to let your dog have plenty of space to roam and live a happy dog life!

 

Shop the Radial-Shape Wireless Dog Fence  

[back to top]

 

 

Worked Wonderfully for us - Amazon Review    April 2012

Reviewer: Klassen

 

The sole reason we were interested in this fence is because we take an annual trip to visit family who live in a lake community. They have a large unfenced yard on the lake and a large number of dogs wander in and out. Last year we either had to have the pup chained or we had to keep an eagle eye on him in case he bolted off. He is a whippet and thus a sight hound. Sight hounds are notorious for being single minded when they see something to chase and we have been told time and again not to ever trust their recall because their prey drive is so strong. So we really need this fence to work. Well, it does! We set it up with minimal fuss. The pup's training was sufficient and he only needed a couple of incidents where he chased another dog outside the flags, heard the static, got a jolt, and bounded back in* for him to keep a sharp eye out for those wretched flags.

 

The only bad things I have to say about the system are: the flags themselves are flimsy and beware of areas where objects interfere with the signal. But I have to say, overall I was extremely pleased with the fence and look forward to using it by the lake on future visits.

 

Highly Recommended.

 

*One of the best things about this system is the fact that the dog does not get shocked again when he comes back inside the safe zone.

 

Shop the Radial-Shape Wireless Dog Fence  

[back to top]

 

 

 

 

 

 

Havahart Wireless Electric Dog   Fence

Havahart® Wireless Dog Fences - groundbreaking technology that translates into the most advanced and reliable wireless dog fences in the industry.

 

Sign-Up for deals & tips!
Follow Us: